MDRU Board of Directors

The MDRU BoD comprises representatives of each of its Foundation Members, representatives from UBC, and has three Independent Directors. The Board;

  • Provides direction to MDRU’s operations and strategies to ensure they are aligned with joint industry-UBC interests
  • Contributes to determining MDRU’s strategic directions and priorities, as well as ensuring its financial viability
  • Provides guidance to operations through the MDRU Director, who reports directly to the Board

An Executive Committee is responsible for MDRU’s operations and administration. The Board can strike committees or add Independent Directors, as required. The MDRU Director reports to the Board.


  • Andrew Davies* (Acting Chair)
    Teck Resources Limited
  • Andy Wurst* (Vice Chair)
    Barrick Gold Corp.
  • Bruce McDonald*
    ALS Global
  • Alex Neufeld*
    Anglo American
  • Philippe Tortell*
  • Thomas Bissig*
    Goldcorp Inc.
  • ‘Lyn Anglin* (I)
    Imperial Metals
  • Tim Baker* (I)
    Eldorado Gold
  • Michael Doggett* (I)
    Doggett and Associates
  • Craig Hart*
  • Greg Dipple
  • Jeanne Liu (Secretary of the Board)


*Executive Committee     (I) Independent Director


Our Founders

  • Peter Bradshaw
  • John McDonald
  • Alastair Sinclair


Past Board Members

Anglo American

  • Robert Peter
  • Graham Brown
  • David Fincham


  • Graeme Davis
  • Ross Sherlock

KGHM International Ltd.

  • Brad McKinley

Goldcorp Inc.

  • Sally Goodman
  • Alastair Still
  • Maryse Belanger


  • Chris Emerson
  • Abraham Escalante

Newmont Mining Corporation

  • Mary Doherty


  • James Franklin
  • Ian Graham
  • Ron Britten
  • Neil Adshead

Read more about our Founders and Directors on the History  page.